The Don Diego Scholarship Foundation promotes education in a fair and fiscally sound manner by providing scholarships to deserving San Diego area graduating high school seniors and graduates who are associated with activities at the Del Mar Fairgrounds, including the San Diego County Fair. The Don Diego Scholarship Foundation also provides grants for agricultural education.

The Don Diego Scholarship Foundation was named for Don Diego, AKA Tom Hernandez, who served as the Fair’s welcoming goodwill ambassador from 1947-1984. To date since its inception in 1986, the Foundation has awarded $1,338,884 in scholarships to 383 students and in agriculture education grants. The Foundation is a 501 (c) (3) nonprofit organization; EIN 33-0859020.

Board of Directors

Steve Shewmaker, Chairman
Glenn Drown, Vice Chairman
Jim Edwards, Treasurer
D Prestininzi, Secretary

Mark Arabo
Lisa Barkett
Alyson Connelly
Sandra DiCicco
Susan Farrior
Joe Harper
John Hoeflich
George Karetas
Kirby Morrison
Russ Penniman
Frederick Schenk
Alysha Stehly

Chair Emeritus Paul Ecke III
Chair Emeritus Roxana Foxx
Chair Emeritus Jon Liss

Ashley Colburn McCaughan, Executive Director

Don Diego Throughout the Years